Upcoming Events

Print This Page

Our Board of Directors

What we are able to do is due in large part to the dedication and support of women and men who contribute their time, experience and so much more to our mission and work in the community. The term for WCSC board membership is three years, with elections held at annual meetings.

Our board of directors is actively involved in executive management, policy setting and long-range planning for WCSC, as well as selection and supervision of the leadership for daily operations, and approving the hiring or promotion of managerial staff. All of our board members make financial contributions to the Women’s Coalition of St. Croix.


Board President Kathy Sheats has been a long-time volunteer and financial supporter of WCSC. Kathy was instrumental in developing our volunteer victim advocate program and has chaired our Annual Tennis Classic committee. Kathy is also a faculty member for the nursing program at the University of the Virgin Islands.

Board Vice President Carol Battuello is a founding member of WCSC. She has been an active volunteer victim advocate for more than 20 years. Carol plays a very active role in advocate training and has served on many committees over the years. Carol is also a social worker for hospice care patients.

Board Secretary Bethany Bradford has been a volunteer with WCSC since 1989. Bethany is also a veterinarian working with the Virgin Islands government.

Board Treasurer Tania Tomyn is an active committee member and supporter of WCSC’s mission. Tania is the chief executive officer of Tibbar Energy USVI, LLC, a women-owned local company, focused on the development of biomass and renewable energy. She is also the chief executive officer of Tibbar Construction Services, Inc., also a women-owned business.

Captain Melbourne Adams is a retired member of the USVI Police Department. He has been volunteering with WCSC in various capacities since its creation. Captain Adams also serves on event committees, including “Take Back the Night.” Captain Adams is a recipient of our Hero Award, given to community members who have made significant contributions to domestic violence prevention.

Kaleema Al-Nur is an international attorney, educator and consultant. She has trained with human rights organizations in the U.S., Europe and Latin America, including the United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights. Kaleema has extensive experience working with nonprofit organizations in program coordination, board development and fundraising.

Ilyn Easy has been a volunteer with the organization for over 20 years, in all capacities. She has made substantial financial contributions to WCSC over the years, and chaired many event committees. Ilyn is the creator of the “Brick Buy Brick” fundraising campaign, dedicated to the restoration of our 7 East Street facility, which was irreparably damaged by fire in 2011.

Karen Hunt began her board membership in 2015. She sees the importance of integrating traditional supports, including families and communities, to foster resilient youth who will be prepared to face the challenges of stress, chaos and negative peer influence without becoming  involved in problem behaviors. Karen is also the program director for Virgin Islands Perinatal Inc.

Yemaya Jones is a well-known local artist and fabric designer. She has been a WCSC supporter for many years, particularly with through art fundraisers.

Makeda Kamara began her board membership in 2015. She has been involved in creating feminist health centers and teaching a womanist perspective to women on birth, health and their bodies. Makeda has been a midwife for over 40 years, and is working with the V.I. Department of Health currently.

Lisa Harris Moorhead is an attorney for the Legislative Branch of the Virgin Islands government. She has supported WCSC’s mission in many ways over the past 20 years.
Claire Roker worked for the Legislative Branch of the Virgin Islands government before her retirement. She has been a long-time supporter of WCSC. Her commitment to our mission ranges from financial support to acting as an ambassador for the organization in the community.

Sandra Setorie has served in many capacities on our board of directors. Her representation and generosity have contributed significantly to the organization’s growth. She has recruited many volunteers for WCSC. Sandra is also the assistant executive director of the V.I. Public Services Commission.

Julie Giddings began her board membership in 2015. She is a strong advocate with a personal connection to WCSC’s mission. Julie is also a security guard with 13 years of experience in firearm safety, security and protection.

The Women's Coalition of St. Croix
P.O. Box 222734
Christiansted, VI 00822-2734

Telephone: (340) 773-9272
Facsimile: (340) 773-9062

Contact Us


Enter your email address to receive WCSTX news and announcements by email: